We are pleased to present the new issue of INSIGHT – ARTWORKS IN THE SPOTLIGHT #3, Drawings by Fred Sandback. The three featured works from 1974 and 1982 testify to the genuine potential of Fred Sandback’s drawing oeuvre in the field of tension between spatial situation and two-dimensional paper.


Insight #3 – Drawings by Fred Sandback

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1974, 48 x 66.5 cm, pastel on paper, photo: Annemarie Verna Gallery, Zurich

Outlines create a shape by delimiting a form and setting it apart from the background or its surroundings. Fred Sandback became known for his sculptures stretched into space, first made with rubber cords and fine metal rods, later with acrylic yarn. The lines evoke sculptural volumes, which occupy and incorporate the exhibition space. The place of execution and its given architectural conditions are thus constitutive for his sculptures. For Sandback, the relationship between space and sculpture is:

“like canvas to the painter or stage to the dancer; it’s what I have to build off of.”1

But what role do drawings play in Fred Sandback’s work? How can they be classified? Are they sketches, preliminary drawings, drafts or studies?

1) Fred Sandback in “Lines of Inquiry: Interview by Joan Simon”, Art in America 85, No. 5 (May 1997) pp. 86–93, republished and translated in Fred Sandback, exh. cat. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll (eds.), Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, pp. 135–142, p. 137.


“The drawings have always shared speculative and documentary relationships to my three-dimensional pieces in varying ways.”2

Sandback’s drawing vocabulary closely revolves around the typology of his sculptures, specific exhibition spaces of galleries or museums and spatial situations in general. Sandback kept a sketchbook, which he used as a field of experimentation. In addition, there are a few quickly sketched notations that can be assigned to specific sculptures and exhibitions. The majority of his works on paper, however, consist of autonomous drawings that were not made in preparation for sculptures.

Rather, they are like musical scores of possibilities. They allowed Sandback to repeatedly examine and test exhibition situations and work types in ever new combinations and relationships. Through drawing, the artist thought about what was, what is and what could be.

2) Fred Sandback in “Lines of Inquiry: Interview by Joan Simon”, Art in America 85, No. 5 (May 1997) pp. 86–93, republished and translated in Fred Sandback, exh. cat. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll (eds.), Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, pp. 135–142, p. 136.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, pencil and pastel on paper, photo: Peter Schaelchli, Zurich

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, pencil and pastel on paper, photo: Peter Schaelchli, Zurich

The two Untitled sheets from 1982 exemplify the type of drawings in which Fred Sandback depicts a specific place, in this case Galerie Editions Média in Neuchâtel (CH). Marc Hostettler presented a double exhibition here in 1982 with Fred Sandback and Lawrence Weiner. Under the title One of 16 Sculptures in Two Parts and Two Colors, Sandback developed a two-part sculpture for the two gallery rooms on the ground floor. In the first room, he stretched an orange string along the diagonal of the floor. In the second room with walls painted gray, a piece of black yarn traversed the space in the same direction at a height of about 120 cm.

The title of the sculpture refers to the possibility of positioning the two yarns in 16 different ways. Only one version was shown during the exhibition.

Fred Sandback – Galerie Media, 1982

Fred Sandback, Galerie Editions Média, Neuchâtel, Switzerland, September 1982.

Understanding sculpture as a sequence of different situations, varying the sculptural arrangements and applying them in different spatial situations is fundamental to Sandback’s work. His sculptural vocabulary was never intended to cover the broadest possible range of conceivable solutions, but instead forms a concentrated selection of different work types which he repeatedly applied over the years.

For Sandback, the potential of his sculptures resided in the aspect of time as well as in spatial changes. The two Untitled sheets from 1982 bear impressive witness to this. They were created during the exhibition in Neuchâtel and show alternative positionings of One of 16 Sculptures in Two Parts and Two Colors.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, pencil and pastel on paper, photo: Peter Schaelchli, Zurich

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, pencil and pastel on paper, photo: Peter Schaelchli, Zurich

In the two Untitled drawings from 1982, the two-roomed ground floor of the gallery is rendered with fine pencil lines. Sandback inscribed a two-part string sculpture with red and black pastels. The two sheets are a variation of diagonals. The red lines run along the floor, the black ones at around the halfway point of the room height. In direct comparison, the two drawings are visually very different. While the horizontal dominates on one sheet, the vertical is more prominent on the other. Nothing has changed in the spatial situation. But the placement and orientation of the two lines have been mirrored in reverse, and they have exchanged their spatial context.

Fred Sandback chose an isometric view for the representation of space. This means that the space and the depicted bodies are not oriented towards a vanishing point. Parallel lines are not distorted in perspective, but always extend at the same interval. Corner points can tilt forwards, or into the spatial depth.

The clear distinction between background and foreground is thereby eliminated3, as the depicted architectural situations and sculptures vacillate between three-dimensional space and two-dimensional surface.

The point of view and isometric depiction cause the two sculptural situations to look completely different in the two Untitled drawings from 1982, though they would appear very similar in the actual physical space. Spatial experience is thus only of limited help when reading Sandback’s drawings.

This ambiguity accounts for the discrete character of Sandback’s drawings, as they allow us to experience sculpture in a way that is not possible in real space.

3) Vazquez, Edward A.: “Der Zug des Raums”, in Fred Sandback. Zeichnungen, exh. cat. Kunstmuseum Winterthur et al., Dieter Schwarz (ed.), Richter Verlag, Düsseldorf 2014, pp. 174-182, p. 178.


“[…]some [drawings] speculate about a place that doesn’t exist, others about a place that does exist, and others are mixed up in nostalgia, the memory of a place that has existed. There are exhibition designs that I have never realized.”4

The two Untitled works from 1982 show how strongly Sandback’s isometric drawings emphasize not only the peculiarities of each of the depicted sculptures, but also of the respective location. Differences in level, proportions, deviating angles and through-passages transform architectural spaces into uniquely differentiated places. These can be situated and recognized within the genesis of the works. The drawings enabled Fred Sandback to view the gallery and museum spaces from a different perspective and from a standpoint outside the site of artistic action. Drawing provided a means of engaging with them beyond the duration of an exhibition. “Fred really and truly had the habit of collecting the spaces from his previous intensive working experiences.”5 In this way, he had access to spaces that remained closed to him outside of the realm of drawing.

The two drawings from 1982 belong to those made from about 1970 onwards in which work and space are intertwined. Over the course of his artistic life, Fred Sandback developed further drawings starting around 1980 in which he exclusively engaged with space. In these pastel crayon drawings, he was interested in the different aspects of spaces, such as the volume of a room, wall boundaries or light coming in through doors and windows.

In contrast, going back to the years from around 1973, he produced drawings with sculptures freely positioned on the paper as lines without reference to space.

4) Fred Sandback in “Sandback: où est la sculpture?”, interview in Sans Titre: Bulletin d’Art Contemporain, Lille, No. 16, January–March 1992, pp. 1–2, republished and translated in: Fred Sandback, exh. cat. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll (eds.), Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, pp. 127–130, p. 129.
5) Verna, Gianfranco, “Fred Sandback”, in Fred Sandback. Zeichnungen, exh. cat. Kunstmuseum Winterthur et al., Dieter Schwarz (ed.), Richter Verlag, Düsseldorf 2014, pp. 75–79, p. 77.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1974, 48 x 66.5 cm, pastel on paper, photo: Annemarie Verna Gallery, Zurich

The drawing Untitled from 1974 shows such a sculptural situation without spatial fixation. Two lines in blue and black cross the approximate center of the sheet in a slightly diagonal direction from bottom left to top right. The two lines, the black one shorter than the blue one, are parallel. Neither the lengths nor any possible points of intersection or alignment seem to be executed according to any sort of grid laid out precisely in relation to the sheet. Rather, they are freely placed on the page. The determinedly applied pastel pencil vividly translates the fibrous texture of the acrylic yarn that Fred Sandback most typically used for his sculptures. The pastel strokes have a tactile quality.

While the sculptures in drawings such as the Untitled works from 1982 are inscribed with relatively delicacy as part of a spatial situation and at a great distance from the viewer’s standpoint, the autonomous lines in Untitled from 1974 are strong and self-consciously put on paper. They have risen from the depths of the sheet to its surface and converge on the viewer’s space. In the process of this convergence, the lines shift from their representational function and emancipate themselves from the (purportedly) represented sculpture.

“He is concerned with the ambivalence of the line, its ambiguity. A line can portray something or merely be the line itself, representing or presenting, generating illusions or doing away with them.”6

Thus freed, the lines of Untitled from 1974 are open in their spatial and ontological conception. In consideration of Sandback’s vocabulary, it is legitimate to persist in interpreting them as sculptures. The sheet of paper then functions as a spatial component, either as a wall on which the yarn sculptures directly rest,7 or as a spatial volume within which the lines can be understood as diagonal connections between wall and floor.

At the same time, however, it is also possible to detach the drawing from any spatial location. It is then the characteristics of the strokes, the application of the pigments with the pastel pencil, the proportions and in this context the different coloring, as well as the placement within the sheet, which constitute the drawing. In the process, a particular simultaneity of calm and tension becomes perceptible.

The small selection discussed here exemplifies how Sandback’s drawings offered him possibilities that go beyond working with actual sculptures in real space. The drawings are not in the service of the sculptures, nor are they merely aids in the conception of new three-dimensional works. They are works in their own right with a decidedly individual aesthetic, which enable the viewer to have a completely different experience from seeing the works in the exhibition context. (Text: Laura Mahlstein; Translation: Julia Thorson)

Insight #3: download here as a PDF

6) Verna, Gianfranco, “Foreword”, Fred Sandback. Drawings 1968–2000, exh. cat. Annemarie Verna Gallery, published by Annemarie Verna Gallery, Zurich 2005, p. 30.
7) Referred to as wall constructions, such sculptures in the form of yarn drawings on the wall were presumably first created in the mid-1980s.

Images: Copyright © 2022, Fred Sandback Archive


The drawings are on view in our current exhibition
New Rooms – Fred Sandback und Sol LeWitt.
We look forward to showing you the artworks in the gallery.

Inquire

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Informationen zur Verbesserung der Usability zu erhalten. Mit dem Aufruf weiterer Inhalte und Seiten erklärst Du Dich einverstanden mit deren Verwendung. Hier gibt es weitere Informationen zum Datenschutz auf goodbooking.ch.

OK, verstanden

Wir freuen uns INSIGHT – ARTWORKS IN THE SPOTLIGHT #3, Zeichnungen von Fred Sandback zu präsentieren. Die drei ausgewählten Werke aus den Jahren 1974 und 1982 bezeugen das genuine Potential von Fred Sandbacks Zeichnung im Spannungsfeld von räumlicher Situation und zweidimensionalem Papier.


Insight #3 - Zeichnungen von Fred Sandback

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1974

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1974, 48 x 66.5 cm, Pastell auf Papier, Foto: Annemarie Verna Galerie, Zürich

Umrisslinien erzeugen durch Begrenzung eine Gestalt und heben diese von ihrem Hintergrund oder ihrer Umgebung ab. Fred Sandback wurde bekannt für seine in den Raum gespannten Skulpturen, die er zuerst mit Gummischnüren und feinen Metallstäbchen, später mit Acrylgarn anfertigte. Die Linien evozieren skulpturale Volumen unter Einbezug des Ausstellungsraums. Ausführungsort und architektonische Bedingungen sind damit konstitutiv für seine Skulpturen. Sandback beschrieb den Raum in Bezug auf seine Skulpturen so:

«Wie die Leinwand für den Maler oder die Bühne für den Tänzer; er ist das, worauf ich aufbauen muss.»1

Welche Rolle aber spielen im Werk von Fred Sandback die Zeichnungen? Wie lassen sie sich einordnen? Sind es Skizzen, Vorzeichnungen, Entwürfe oder Studien?

1) Fred Sandback in: «Befragung durch Linien: Interview von Joan Simon», in: Art in America 85, Nr. 5 (Mai 1997) S. 86-93, wiederabgedruckt und übersetzt in: Fred Sandback, Kat. Ausst. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., hrsg. v. Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll, Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, S. 143-151, S. 145.


«Die Zeichnungen standen immer auf unterschiedliche Weise in einer spekulativen und dokumentarischen Beziehung zu meinen dreidimensionalen Arbeiten.»2

Sandbacks Zeichnungsvokabular kreist eng um die Typologie seiner Skulpturen, um spezifische Ausstellungsräume von Galerien oder Museen und um räumliche Situationen im Allgemeinen. Sandback führte ein Skizzenbuch, das er im Sinne eines Experimentierfeldes verwendete. Daneben existieren einige wenige, schnell skizzierte Notationen, die sich spezifischen Skulpturen und Ausstellungen zuweisen lassen. Der überwiegende Teil seiner Papierarbeiten aber besteht aus autonomen Zeichnungen, die nicht als Vorbereitung für Skulpturen entstanden sind.

Vielmehr sind es Möglichkeits-Partituren. Sie erlaubten es Sandback, Ausstellungsituationen und Werktypen zeitlich unbegrenzt und in immer wieder neuen Kombinationen und Verhältnissen zu überprüfen und erproben. Mittels der Zeichnung dachte der Künstler darüber nach, was war, was ist und was sein könnte.

2) Fred Sandback in: «Befragung durch Linien: Interview von Joan Simon», in: Art in America 85, Nr. 5 (Mai 1997) S. 86-93, wiederabgedruckt und übersetzt in: Fred Sandback, Kat. Ausst. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., hrsg. v. Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll, Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, S. 143-151, S. 144.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, Bleistift und Pastell auf Papier, Foto: Peter Schälchli, Zürich

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, Bleistift und Pastell auf Papier, Foto: Peter Schälchli, Zürich

Die beiden Blätter Untitled von 1982 stehen exemplarisch für den Typus von Zeichnungen, bei denen Fred Sandback einen spezifischen Ort abbildet, in diesem Fall die Galerie Editions Média in Neuchâtel (CH). Hier richtete Marc Hostettler 1982 mit Fred Sandback und Lawrence Weiner eine Doppelausstellung ein. Unter dem Titel One of 16 Sculptures in Two Parts and Two Colors hat Sandback für die beiden Galerieräume im Erdgeschoss eine zweiteilige Skulptur entwickelt. Im ersten Raum spannte er einen orangen Faden entlang der Bodendiagonale. Den zweiten, graugestrichenen Raum durchzog in gleicher Ausrichtung ein schwarzes Garn auf einer Höhe von ungefähr 120cm.

Der Titel der Skulptur verweist auf die Möglichkeit, die beiden Garne auf 16 unterschiedliche Arten zu platzieren. Gezeigt wurde während der Ausstellung nur eine Ausführung.

Fred Sandback – Galerie Media, 1982

Fred Sandback, Ausstellungsansicht, Galerie Editions Média, Neuchâtel, Schweiz, September 1982.

Die Skulptur als eine Abfolge verschiedener Situationen zu verstehen, skulpturale Setzungen zu variieren und in unterschiedlichen räumlichen Situationen anzuwenden, ist grundlegend für Sandbacks Schaffen. Sein Skulpturenvokabular war nie darauf angelegt, eine möglichst breite Palette abzudecken, sondern bildet eine konzentrierte Auswahl unterschiedlicher Werktypen, die er über die Jahre immer wieder angewendet hat.

Für Sandback lag das Potential seiner Skulpturen sowohl in der Zeit als auch in den räumlichen Veränderungen. Davon zeugen die beiden Blätter Untitled von 1982 eindrücklich. Sie sind während der Ausstellung in Neuchâtel entstanden und zeigen zwei alternative Setzungen von One of 16 Sculptures in Two Parts and Two Colors.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, Bleistift und Pastell auf Papier, Detail, Foto: Peter Schälchli, Zürich

Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1982

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1982, 65 x 90.6 cm, Bleistift und Pastell auf Papier, Detail, Foto: Peter Schälchli, Zürich

Auf den beiden Zeichnungen Untitled 1982 ist mit feinen Bleistiftlinien das zweiräumige Erdgeschoss der Galerie wiedergegeben. Darin zeichnet Sandback mit roter und schwarzer Pastellkreide eine zweiteilige Fadenskulptur. Es handelt sich bei den beiden Blättern um eine Variation von Diagonalen. Die roten Linien verlaufen entlang des Bodens, die schwarzen etwa in der Mitte der Raumhöhe. Im direkten Vergleich unterschieden sich die beiden Zeichnungen visuell stark. Ist auf dem einen Blatt die Horizontale dominant, ist es auf dem anderen die Vertikale. An der Raumsituation hat sich dabei nichts geändert. Aber die Platzierung und Ausrichtung der beiden Linien wurde gespiegelt und sie haben die Räume getauscht.

Fred Sandback hat für die Raumdarstellung die isometrische Ansicht gewählt. Das heisst, Raum und dargestellte Körper orientieren sich nicht auf einen Fluchtpunkt hin. Parallele Linien werden nicht perspektivisch verzerrt, sondern verlaufen im immer gleichen Abstand. Eckpunkte können dabei sowohl nach vorne wie in die Raumtiefe kippen. Die jederzeit klare Unterscheidung zwischen Hinter- und Vordergrund wird so aufgehoben.3

Die dargestellten architektonischen Situationen und Skulpturen springen zwischen Raum und Fläche hin und her. Blickpunkt und Isometrie führen dazu, dass die beiden skulpturalen Situationen, die im realen Raum grosse Ähnlichkeiten hätten, auf den beiden Zeichnungen Untitled 1982 komplett unterschiedlich aussehen. Raumerfahrung hilft beim Lesen von Sandbacks Zeichnungen also nur bedingt.

In dieser Mehrdeutigkeit liegt die Eigenständigkeit von Sandbacks Zeichnungen, machen sie doch die Skulptur auf eine Art und Weise erfahrbar, die im realen Raum nicht möglich ist.

3) Vazquez, Edward A.: «Der Zug des Raums», in: Fred Sandback. Zeichnungen, Kat. Ausst. Kunstmuseum Winterthur et al., hrsg. v. Dieter Schwarz, Richter Verlag, Düsseldorf 2014, S. 174-182, S. 178.


«[…] manche [Zeichnungen] sind Spekulationen über einen Ort, der gar nicht existiert, andere betreffen einen Ort, den es gibt, und andere sind mit Nostalgie verbunden, mit der Erinnerung an einen Ort, den es gegeben hat. Es gibt da Zeichnungen zu Ausstellungen, die ich niemals realisiert habe.»4

 

Die beiden Arbeiten Untitled 1982 zeigen zudem, wie stark in Sandbacks isometrischen Zeichnungen nicht nur die Eigenarten der jeweils abgebildeten Skulptur, sondern auch des jeweiligen Ortes zur Geltung kommen. Niveau-Unterschiede, Proportionen, abweichende Winkel und Durchgänge machen aus Räumen differenzierte Orte. Diese lassen sich innerhalb der Werkgenese lokalisieren und wiedererkennen.

Die Zeichnungen ermöglichten es Fred Sandback, die Galerie- und Museumsräume aus einer anderen Perspektive und von einem Standpunkt ausserhalb des Geschehens zu betrachten. Die Auseinandersetzung damit war mittels der Zeichnung über die Laufzeit einer Ausstellung hinaus möglich. «Fred sammelte recht eigentlich die Räume, mit denen er intensive Arbeitserfahrungen hatte machen können.»5 Auch waren ihm so Räume zugänglich, die ihm ausserhalb der Zeichnung verschlossen blieben.

Die Zeichnungen von 1982 gehören zu denjenigen, die etwa ab 1970 entstanden und bei denen Werk und Raum ineinander verschränkt sind. Im Lauf seines künstlerischen Lebens entwickelte Fred Sandback ab etwa 1980 auch Zeichnungen, bei denen er sich ausschliesslich mit dem Raum beschäftigte. In diesen Pastellkreide-Zeichnungen interessierten ihn die unterschiedlichen Aspekte von Räumen wie Raumvolumen, Wandbegrenzungen oder durch Türen und Fenster einfallendes Licht.

Bereits ab etwa 1973 entstanden im Gegensatz dazu Zeichnungen, die Skulpturen zeigen, die als Linien ohne Raumbezug frei auf die Papierfläche gesetzt wurden.

4) Fred Sandback in: «Sandback: Wo ist die Skulptur», Interview in: Sans Titre: Bulletin d’Art Contemporain, Lille, Nr. 16, Januar-März 1992, S. 1-2, wiederabgedruckt und übersetzt in: Fred Sandback, Kat. Ausst. Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein et. al., hrsg. v. Friedemann Malsch, Christiane Meyer-Stoll, Hatje Cantz, Ostfildern-Ruit 2005, S. 131-134, S. 133.
5) Verna, Gianfranco: «Fred Sandback», in: Fred Sandback. Zeichnungen, Kat. Ausst. Kunstmuseum Winterthur et al., hrsg. v. Dieter Schwarz, Richter Verlag, Düsseldorf 2014, S. 75-79, S. 77.


Fred Sandback – Untitled, 1974

Fred Sandback, Untitled, 1974, 48 x 66.5 cm, Pastell auf Papier, Foto: Annemarie Verna Galerie, Zürich

Die Zeichnung Untitled 1974 zeigt eine solche räumlich nicht festgeschriebene skulpturale Situation. Zwei Linien in Blau und Schwarz durchziehen in leicht diagonaler Richtung von unten links nach oben rechts die ungefähre Blattmitte. Die beiden Linien, die schwarze ist kürzer als die blaue, sind parallel geführt. Weder Längen noch mögliche Schnittpunkte, noch Ausrichtung scheinen dabei nach einem in Bezug auf das Blatt genau ausgelegten Raster ausgeführt. Vielmehr sind sie frei platziert. Der bestimmt aufgesetzte Pastellstift übersetzt die faserige Beschaffenheit des Acrylgarns, das Fred Sandback hauptsächlich für seine Skulpturen verwendet hat, anschaulich. Die Pastellstriche haben eine haptische Qualität.

Während die Skulpturen in Zeichnungen wie Untitled 1982 als Teil einer Situation relativ fein und in grossem Abstand zum Betrachterstandpunkt inszeniert sind, sind die autonomen Linien in Untitled 1974 stark und selbstbewusst aufs Papier gebracht. Sie sind aus der Tiefe des Blattes auf dessen Oberfläche hochgestiegen und nähern sich dem Betrachterraum. Im Prozess dieser Annäherung distanzieren sich die Linien von ihrer Repräsentationsfunktion und emanzipieren sich von der (vermeintlich) dargestellten Skulptur.

«Ihn beschäftigt die Ambivalenz der Linie, Ihre Vieldeutigkeit. Eine Linie stellt etwas dar, oder bloss sich selber, sie kann also repräsentieren oder präsentieren, eine Illusion erzeugen oder aufheben.»6

 

Die so freigespielten Linien von Untitled 1974 sind in ihrer räumlichen und ontologischen Auffassung offen. Ausgehend von Sandbacks Vokabular ist es legitim, sie weiterhin als Skulpturen zu lesen. Der Papierbogen fungiert dann als räumliche Komponente, entweder als Wand, auf der die Garnskulpturen aufliegen7, oder als Raumvolumen innerhalb dessen sich die Linien als diagonale Verbindungen zwischen Wand und Boden lesen lassen.

Gleichzeitig ist es aber auch möglich, die Zeichnung von jeglicher räumlichen Verortung zu lösen. Es sind dann die Eigenschaften der Striche, der Auftrag der Pigmente mit dem Pastellstift, die Grössenverhältnisse und in diesem Zusammenhang die unterschiedliche Farbgebung, ebenso wie die Setzung innerhalb des Blattes, welche die Zeichnung ausmachen. Dabei wird eine eigentümliche Gleichzeitigkeit von Ruhe und Spannung spürbar.

Die kleine hier besprochene Auswahl zeigt exemplarisch, dass Sandbacks Zeichnungen ihm Möglichkeiten boten, die über die Arbeit mit effektiven Skulpturen im realen Raum hinausgehen. Die Zeichnungen stehen nicht im Dienst der Skulpturen, sind nicht bloss Hilfsmittel zur Konzeption neuer dreidimensionaler Arbeiten. Sie sind eigenständige Werke mit einer dezidiert eigenen Ästhetik, die bei den Betrachtenden gänzlich andere Erfahrungen möglich machen als die Werkbetrachtung in der Ausstellung. (Text: Laura Mahlstein)

Insight #3: hier als PDF downloaden

6) Gianfranco Verna, «Vorwort», in: Fred Sandback. Drawings 1968-2000, Kat. Ausst. Annemarie Verna Galerie, hrsg. v. Annemarie Verna Galerie, Zürich 2005, S. 30.
7) Solche Wall Construction genannte Skulpturen – in Form von Garn-Zeichnungen auf der Wand – entstanden aber wohl erst Mitte der 1980er Jahre.

Abbildungen: Copyright © 2022, Fred Sandback Archive


Die Zeichnungen sind Teil unserer aktuellen Ausstellung
New Rooms – Fred Sandback und Sol LeWitt.
Gerne zeigen wir Ihnen die Originale in der Galerie.

Anfrage

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Informationen zur Verbesserung der Usability zu erhalten. Mit dem Aufruf weiterer Inhalte und Seiten erklärst Du Dich einverstanden mit deren Verwendung. Hier gibt es weitere Informationen zum Datenschutz auf goodbooking.ch.

OK, verstanden